Oklahoma Senate Leader Appoints Final Three To Repair Panel

Jul 24, 2014

The leader of the Oklahoma Senate has approved three members to a committee that will oversee a $120 million renovation of the state Capitol.

Barricades surround the south steps of the Oklahoma Capitol.
Credit Meghan Blessing / KGOU

Senate President Pro Tem Brian Bingman announced the appointment of Republican Sens. Dan Newberry of Tulsa and Corey Brooks of Washington, along with Democrat Susan Paddack of Ada.

The three will serve on a nine-member, bipartisan committee created under a bill approved last session that authorizes a $120 million bond issue to pay for repairs to the nearly 100-year-old building.

House Speaker Jeff Hickman already has appointed Republican Reps. Mark McBride of Moore and Earl Sears of Bartlesville and Democrat R.C. Pruett of Antlers.

Gov. Mary Fallin previously named David Thompson of Edmond, Phil Kennedy of Lawton and Steve Mason of Oklahoma City to the panel.


KGOU produces journalism in the public interest, essential to an informed electorate. Help support informative, in-depth journalism with a donation online, or contact our Membership department.