FEMA Approves Fallin’s Request For Federal Assistance After Winter Storm

Dec 29, 2015

Storm damage at a home in Piedmont after the Thanksgiving 2015 ice storm.
Credit Mark Fox / National Weather Service

Gov. Mary Fallin announced Tuesday that President Obama and the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved Oklahoma's request for disaster assistance for 18 counties related to a winter storm that occurred in November.

The approval means federal funding is available to help with repairs and costs associated with responding to the storm, which occurred between Nov. 27 and Nov. 29.

Disaster assistance is approved for Alfalfa, Beckham, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Grady, Grant, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Logan, Major, Oklahoma, Roger Mills, Washita, and Woods counties effected by winter weather conditions and flooding. 

There is an estimated $19.7 million in damages and response costs in the approved counties alone. The storm was responsible for more than 125,000 power outages in homes and businesses across the state. The storm also brought hazardous travel conditions and resulted in two deaths.

FEMA Administrator W. Craig Fugate named William J. Doran III as the Federal Coordinating Officer and head of recovery operations in Oklahoma.

The funds are available to state, tribal, and local governments as well as some nonprofits. There may be additional funding available later at the state’s request after further assessments of damage and hazard conditions.

KGOU is a community-supported news organization and relies on contributions from readers and listeners to fulfill its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond. Donate online, or by contacting our Membership department.