© 2022 KGOU
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Oklahoma News

Physician's Group Wants Supreme Court Justices Ousted After 2013 Ruling Against Tort Reform Act

The Oklahoma Supreme Court in 2015: Standing (Left to Right): Vice-Chief Justice Douglas L. Combs Justice James E. Edmondson, Justice Steven W. Taylor, Justice Noma Gurich. Sitting (Left to Right): Justice Joseph M. Watt, Chief Justice John F. Reif, Just
Oklahoma State Courts Network

The medical association that represents Oklahoma physicians is calling for the ouster of all three members of the Oklahoma Supreme Court who are on this year's general election ballot for a retention vote.

OSMA President Dr. Todd Brockman said in a statement the decision to urge the ouster of the justices was based on rulings by the Supreme Court against attempts by the Legislature to change the state's civil justice system – or tort reform.

In June of 2013 the Supreme Court ruled the Comprehensive Lawsuit Reform Act of 2009, or H.B. 1603, was unconstitutional because the act addressed more than one subject. Governor Mary Fallin called a special session of the legislature to address tort reform that resulted in 23 separate bills approved by both houses and signed by Fallin.

The Oklahoma State Medical Association on Friday called for voters to cast a 'no' vote on whether to retain Justices John Reif, Tom Colbert, and Joseph Watt. All three were appointed to the court by Democrats. Reif and Colbert were appointed by former Gov. Brad Henry, while Watt was appointed by former Gov. David Walters.

The court has nine total justices.



KGOU relies on voluntary contributions from readers and listeners to further its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond. To contribute to our efforts, make your donation online, or contact our Membership department.

More News

Readers and listeners power the public service journalism KGOU and NPR provide. Donate online.