© 2024 KGOU
Photo of Lake Murray State Park showing Tucker Tower and the marina in the background
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Disaster Aid Approved For 15 More Oklahoma Counties

Brian Hardzinski

The federal government has approved public assistance for 15 more Oklahoma counties to help with infrastructure repairs following severe storms and flooding.

Gov. Mary Fallin said Thursday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency approved the state's request for more aid. The latest counties approved for assistance are Adair, Beckham, Caddo, Comanche, Creek, Garvin, Jackson, Logan, McCurtain, McIntosh, Marshall, Muskogee, Pushmataha, Sequoyah and Washita counties.

The federal funds can be used to help cities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with damages caused by and flooding in May.

A total of 40 counties have been now approved for public assistance. Thirteen others were approved for individual assistance, which makes federal aid available for housing repairs or temporary housing and Small Business Administration low-interest loans.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
More News
Support nonprofit, public service journalism you trust. Give now.