© 2023 KGOU
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

November 2017 Local Election Results: Rosino, Ikley-Freeman, Ford To Fill Empty Seats In State House

Tuesday, November 14 was Election Day in Oklahoma.

One week after federal Election Day, Oklahomans headed to the polls to vote in local races in more than 30 counties, including three special elections to fill vacant seats in the legislature.  The results came in late Tuesday night.

Republican Paul Rosino won the seat of former State Senator Kyle Loveless in District 45, which includes parts of Canadian, Cleveland and Oklahoma Counties. Rosino beat Democrat Steven Vincent with 57 percent of the vote.

In House District 76 in Tulsa, voters chose Republican Ross Ford to fill the seat of the late Representative David Brumbaugh. Ford won more than two-thirds of the vote, while Democrat Chris VanLandingham had 32 percent of the vote.

Tulsa voters flipped a seat from Republican to Democrat by choosing Allison Ikley-Freeman to replace former State Senator Dan Newberry, who left his District 37 seat earlier this year. Ikley-Freeman beat her opponent, Republican Brian O'Hara, by just 31 votes.  

In Del City, voters said yes to a half-percent increase in sales tax that would fund the police and fire departments.  Spencer residents also passed a sales and excise tax measure to fund their police and fire departments.  In Norman, voters overwhelmingly approved a referendum to bring the city's charter into compliance with state election laws.

In Woodward, Republican Troy White won the race for District 1 County Commissioner with 87 percent of the vote, while Democrat Michael Kee had 13 percent.

State law dictates that elections are held on the second Tuesday of November in odd-numbered years. More local election results can be found on the Oklahoma State Election Board's website.

As a community-supported news organization, KGOU relies on contributions from readers and listeners to fulfill its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond.  Donate online, or by contacting our Membership department.

More News
Support nonprofit, public service journalism you trust. Give now.