© 2024 KGOU
Colorful collared lizard a.k.a mountain boomer basking on a sandstone boulder
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Jan. 14 Deadline To Apply For Drought Disaster Loans

Al Jazeera English

Small businesses in 12 Oklahoma counties and two counties in Kansas have one month left to apply for U.S. Small Business Administration drought disaster loans.

Tanya N. Garfield, director of the SBA program, says businesses have until Jan. 14 to seek a federal disaster loan for economic injury.

Garfield says small nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private nonprofit organizations may apply for loans of up to $2 million. The low-interest loans are meant to offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the drought that began on May 6.

In Oklahoma, businesses located in Lincoln, Washington, Creek, Logan, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma, Osage, Payne, Pottawatomie, Rogers and Tulsa counties may apply for the loans. Eligible counties in Kansas are Chautauqua and Montgomery counties.


KGOU is a community-supported news organization and relies on contributions from readers and listeners to fulfill its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond. Donate online, or by contacting our Membership department.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
More News
Support nonprofit, public service journalism you trust. Give now.