© 2024 KGOU
The statue As Long as the Waters Flow by Allan C. Houser stands outside the Oklahoma Capitol
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Speaker Jeff Hickman Sets Up His House

State Rep. Jeff Hickman (R-Fairview)
Oklahoma House of Representatives

House Speaker Jeff Hickman has restructured the House committees and appropriation subcommittees and announced the various chairs and vice chairs.

Hickman named longtime ally Earl Sears of Bartlesville to replace Norman Rep. Scott Martin as chairman of the powerful House Appropriations Committee. Martin takes over as chairman of a new appropriations subcommittee that oversees funding for education.

Hickman increased from 23 to 29 the number of standing committees, but reduced the number of budget subcommittees. He said he considered the expertise of various members in the private sector, and he appointed a few Democrats as vice chairmen.

Those picked to chair budget subcommittees were Reps. Dennis Johnson, Doug Cox, Pat Ownbey, Leslie Osborn, John Bennett Sallisaw, Mark McCullough, David Dank, and Mike Sanders.


KGOU is a community-supported news organization and relies on contributions from readers and listeners to fulfill its mission of public service to Oklahoma and beyond. Donate online, or by contacting our Membership department.

The Associated Press is one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering, supplying a steady stream of news to its members, international subscribers and commercial customers. AP is neither privately owned nor government-funded; instead, it's a not-for-profit news cooperative owned by its American newspaper and broadcast members.
More News
Support nonprofit, public service journalism you trust. Give now.