© 2024 KGOU
News and Music for Oklahoma
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

KGOU, SIO Capture Awards for Excellence

L-R: Jacob McCleland, Claire Donnelly, Nomin Ujiyediin, Paige Willett, StateImpact Oklahoma Reporter Joe Wertz, Jim Johnson hold KGOU awards

This is the Manager’s Minute.

The annual journalism award season just ended, with KGOU winning the Sweepstakes Award for most honors in the Oklahoma/Arkansas Associated Press competition.

KGOU, KOSU and StateImpact Oklahoma (SIO) took First Place in Government Reporting for the Oklahoma Engaged Election Project.

Oklahoma Engaged also received a regional Edward R. Murrow Award and a First Place prize from the Public Radio News Directors, Incorporated.

KGOU and StateImpact Oklahoma earned 16 awards, including eight First Place honors, from the Oklahoma Society of Professional Journalists.

KGOU news director Jacob McCleland took First in the Oklahoma Association of Broadcasters Awards for his feature on rattlesnake hunters.

Finally, Storme Jones won First Place for Radio Newscast in the Oklahoma Broadcast Education Association student contest.

Those winning awards were: Jacob McCleland, Kate Carlton Greer, Brian Hardzinski, Storme Jones, and SIO reporters Joe Wertz and Logan Layden.

Click here to go to our Awards page.

Congratulations, everyone.

Until next time, with the Manager’s Minute, I’m Dick Pryor.

Dick Pryor has more than 30 years of experience in public service media, having previously served as deputy director, managing editor, news manager, news anchor and host for OETA, Oklahoma’s statewide public TV network. He was named general manager of KGOU Radio in November 2016.
More News
Support nonprofit, public service journalism you trust. Give now.