KGOU, StateImpact Oklahoma Reporters Honored | KGOU

KGOU, StateImpact Oklahoma Reporters Honored

May 25, 2019

This is the Manager’s Minute.

KGOU and StateImpact Oklahoma reporters were big winners when the names were announced in the latest Oklahoma journalism awards competition – the Society of Professional Journalists.

All told, KGOU and StateImpact reporters captured 15 of the 24 radio awards.

StateImpact earned six awards, including firsts won by Quinton Chandler, Jackie Fortier, Emily Wendler and Joe Wertz, for Government and Criminal Justice Reporting, Feature Reporting, Diversity Reporting and Special Program.

KGOU brought home seven SPJ awards, including first place honors for Storme Jones in General News and Claire Donnelly in Sports Reporting.

The Oklahoma Engaged collaborative election project took first place for Election Reporting and best Live Broadcast for our general election night program last November.

Oklahoma Engaged has already won a regional Edward R. Murrow Award and is under consideration for a National Murrow Award. Thank you to everyone who provides financial support to make this outstanding journalism possible at KGOU.

Until next time, with the Manager’s Minute, I’m Dick Pryor.